Arizona dating age laws

Bitkho 2 comments

More articles like this:. Continuous sexual abuse of a child under What Must Prosecutors Prove? How It Works Briefly tell us about your case Provide your contact information Choose attorneys to contact you. This cautionary tale is real — it happened to the child of a friend of mine.

Arizona dating age laws [PUNIQRANDLINE-(au-dating-names.txt)

Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor. Continuous sexual abuse of a child under Luring a minor for sexual exploitation. Public sexual indecency to a minor. If victim under 12, life in prison without probation until 35 years served; 1 If the minor is under age 15, five years in prison; 2 if the offender is at least age 18 or is tried as an adult and the minor was age 12 or younger, life in prison and the offender is ineligible for release until serving 35 years; 3 if the offender is at least 18 or tried as an adult and the victim is age 12, 13, or 14, the presumptive sentence is 20 years; Punishable by one year in prison.

Oct 13, A common misconception about rape is that sex must be forced.

Age of Consent Laws in Arizona - (602) 456-0545 Phoenix, AZ

What are the Legal Consequences for Statutory Rape? What Must Prosecutors Prove? Categories Criminal Defense. Sexual contact with someone younger than 15, however, is always a crime, and a conviction arizona dating age laws result in significant prison time, fines, or both.

Unlike most states where mistake of age is not a defense, in Arizona mistake of age is sometimes a defense. When the victim was 15, 16, or 17 years old at the time of the offense, the defendant accused of statutory rape may claim that he had no reason to know that the victim was underage.

Arizona Statutory Rape Laws

The defendant may argue that the victim herself represented that she was older than she was, and that a reasonable person would have believed her. If you are facing a statutory rape charge, consider consulting with an experienced criminal defense attorney who regularly practices in your area. The law can change at any time, and there might be defenses that apply to your statutory rape charges.

An attorney can often arizona dating age laws with the prosecutor for a lesser charge or a reduction in penalties such as, for example, probation instead of prison time and will know how prosecutors and judges typically handle cases like yours. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site.

The attorney listings on this site are paid arizona dating age laws advertising. However, new york does not legally capable of consent laws relating to solemnization of peter f.

YOUR FAMILY & THE LAW: Teenage Romance and Arizona’s "Romeo and Juliet" Laws

For refers to date to getting the law. Derivation table showing the minors. Young as 16 states where you get expert advice for quick, an interesting quirk about the policy implications of virginia.

What Is The Age Of Consent?

State legislators throughout the age of sexual activity. Certainly, anytime non- consensual sexual acts are committed, additional and extremely serious felony sex assault charges will be filed against the offending party.


The second defense is the Mistaken Identity rule. They arizona dating age laws in sexual acts which according to A. The girl tells her friend who tells her mother who calls the police because she knows the girl to be 15, not That boy could well be charged because even though he was mistaken about her age, he should have made reasonable attempts to determine her age. Did he question her family or friends about her age? This cautionary tale is real — it happened to the child of a friend of mine.


We can be grateful also that these defenses were created by our legislators to spare young people in consensual, close-in-age relationships from being treated as predators under the law.

Arizona dating age laws [PUNIQRANDLINE-(au-dating-names.txt)